2014-2015 Student Organization and Leader Award Recipients

Student Leader Recipients

Mr. and Madam Governor

Daniel Pitts Brena Andring

Vice President's Excellence in Leadership Award Brena Andring

Fraternity Man of the Year and Sorority Woman of the Year

Max Helms Jill Anderson

Governors Service Award

Zac Gillman

Governors Pride Senior Leader Award

Julia Batson Zac Gillman

Valor Award

Kelly Sanson

Athlete Leader of the Year

Aleksas Tverijonas, Govs Tennis Jada Stotts, Lady Govs Volleyball

Distinguished Student Leaders of the Year

Abigail Wilt, Peer Mentor and Education Wes Beagle, Philanthropic/Community Service Danielle Hunter, Celebration and Promotion of Diversity Kyle Donald, Spiritual Development

Betty Joe Wallace Women's Studies Activist Award Jordan Adams

Andrew L. "Drew" Simmons Intramural Leader of the Year Kelbi Morrow

Adult Student Leader of the YearTom Carvell

Student Veteran of the YearChace Drew

Governors Rising Leaders
Austin McKain, Freshman
Ryan Honea, Sophomore
Harlie Fuqua, Junior

Extended Community Service AwardGarrett Orton

Governors Impact AwardDaniel Pitts

Volunteer of the Year Award

Maureen Lund

Jamie Shelton

Civic Engagement Award Zac Gillman

Student Employees of the Year Abbi Wilt, Communication Department

Student Organization Members of the Year

Travis Hodge, Del Square Psi Victoria Davis, Chi Omega Women's Fraternity

Housing/Residence Life Program of the Year Lauren Ashley Hacket

Silent Inspiration AwardMickey Springer

Child Learning Center Parent Volunteer of the Year Kali Cooper

Distinguished Student Research Leader of the YearJoshua Hinkley

2014-2015 Faculty and Staff Recipients

Exemplary Faculty Member of the Year

Dr. Karen Meisch, Biology

Exemplary Staff Member of the Year

April Williams, Administrative Assistant

Student Organization Adviser of the Year

Christina Chester-Fangman, Adviser, Students for Secular Humanism

Best New Student Organization Adviser

John Genis, Adviser, Alpha Sigma Phi

Governors Impact Award

Tracy Nichols, Staff, Professor of Communication

2014-2015 Student Organization Recipients

Student Organization of the Year

Gay-Straight Alliance

Greek Organization of the Year

Alpha Delta Pi Sorority

President's Cup Award for Academic Excellence

Alpha Delta Pi, Panhellenic Council Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., National Pan-Hellenic Council Kappa Alpha Order, Interfraternity Council

> Wyatt Spirit Award Sigma Chi Fraternity

> **Rising Star Award** Sigma Chi Fraternity

Governors Impact AwardBaptist Collegiate Ministries

Program of the Year Award

Alpha Tau Omega - for *Jump for Judes*

Outstanding Community Service Program

Student Government Association -for *The Big Event*

Fundraiser of the Year Award

Chi Omega - for *Wings for Wishes*

Thousand Points of Light Program Award

Govs Programming Council - for *AP Apollo*

Multicultural Program of the Year

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc., and NAACP Collegiate Chapter -for *The Leadership Forum*

Co-Sponsored Program of the Year

Alpha Delta Pi, Alpha Phi Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, and Alpha Gamma Rho -for *Fire*, *Diamonds*, *and Ice*

Governors Service Award

Student Government Association

Recognition of 2014-15 Student Government Association Executive Council

Zac Gillman, President Daniel Pitts, Vice President Brena Andring, Secretary Will Roberts, Chief Justice

Swearing in of 2015-16 Student Government Association Executive Officers-Elect

Will Roberts, President Ankit Patel, Vice President Faith Merriweather, Secretary Lucas Bearden, Chief Justice

2014-2015 Who's Who Among Students in American Universities

Erika Adams, Jordan Adams, Karlic Adams, Daniel Anderson, Brean Andring, Labria Appleton, Matthew Barnett, Julia Batson, Lucas Bearden, Amanda Blankenship, Amber Botts, Keedy Burdeshaw, Llaria Calo, Kali Cooper, Haley Cowley, Chesley Denning, Brooke Diggs, Alexis Eldridge, Cassie Elrod, Julie Flowers, Julia Freelend, Megan Hart, Max Helms,, Leah Henson, Josh Hinkley, Breigh Jones, Rylan Kean, Lauren Maki, Lauren McKinney, Tyler Meadows, Courtney Melton, Doreen Merickle, Jonell Nicholson, Jennifer Nwokocha, Te'Lysha Peaks, Tikehe Peebles, Alexa Riley, Kaitlin Roe, Danie Suiter, Randy Valerio, Carrie West, and Kayla Williams.

Special thanks to event host Joe Mills, Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs and Director, Housing/Residence Life and Dining Services