# 2012-2013 Student Organization and Leader Award Recipients

Student Leader Recipients

Mr. and Madam Governor Jesse Brewer Aubrey Harris

Vice President's Excellence in Leadership Award Joseph Marler

Fraternity Man of the Year and Sorority Woman of the Year

Roger Taylor, Jr., Alpha Tau Omega Fraternity Taylor Plummer, Chi Omega Women's Fraternity

> Meningall Governors Cup Sara Moini

**Governors Pride Senior Leader Award** 

Deanna Carter, Bon Aqua, TN Jawaun Rogers

Valor Award

Tracey Starek Michelle Swallows

Athlete Leader of the Year

Tabitha Beard, Centerville, TN., *Lady Govs Golf* Sean Bailey, Ft. Campbell, KY, *Govs Tennis* 

#### **Distinguished Student Leaders of the Year**

Jawaun Rogers, Peer Mentor and Education Doug Austin, Philanthropic/Community Service Mark Travis Jr., Celebration and Promotion of Diversity

## Betty Joe Wallace Women's Studies Activist Award Tabitha Gunn, Fairview, TN

# Andrew L. "Drew" Simmons Intramural Leader of the Year Orlando Alex Broady

Adult Student Leader of the Year Jena Campbell

Student Veteran of the Year Stacy Gardner

#### **Governors Rising Leaders**

Will Roberts, Maryville, TN, Freshman Zac Gillman, Sophomore Zach Inman, Junior

#### **Extended Community Service Award**

Emily Lloyd, Winter Garden, FL

**Governors Impact Award** Sara Hoover

#### Volunteer of the Year Award

Leslie Swanson Sara Brogdon

**Civic Engagement Award** Michael Cleveland, Ft. Campbell, KY Alberto Fait

# **Student Employees of the Year**

Stella Pak, TRiO Student Support Services Tahji Peebles, Athletics

## **Student Organization Members of the Year**

Amanda Blankenship, Alpha Sigma Alpha Sorority Zac Gillman, Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity

Housing/Residence Life Program of the Year

Gabriela Davis, Corryton, TN

Silent Inspiration Award Stella Pak

**Child Learning Center Parent Volunteer of the Year** Sydney Edwards

# 2012-2013 Faculty and Staff Recipients

# **Exemplary Faculty Member of the Year**

Dr. John Nicholson, assistant professor, Computer Science and Information Technology

# **Exemplary Staff Member of the Year**

Daisy Torres, coordinator, Hispanic Cultural Center

#### Student Organization Adviser of the Year

Dr. Lowell Roddy, director, Counseling and Health Services, and adviser, APSU Student Veterans Organization

## **Best New Student Organization Adviser**

Dr. David Rands, adviser, Phi Alpha Theta History Club

## **Governors Impact Award**

Michael Hamlet, director, Human Resources

#### **Award of Appreciation**

Dr. Dewey Browder, professor and chair, department of history and philosophy, for his service and many years of dedication to APSU students, veteran students and alumni, and the military community.

# 2012-2013 Student Organization Recipients

# **Student Organization of the Year** Phi Alpha Theta History Club

Greek Organization of the Year Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity

#### President's Cup Award for Academic Excellence

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. - NPHC Alpha Delta Pi Sorority - PC Alpha Tau Omega Fraternity - IFC

> **Wyatt Spirit Award** Alpha Sigma Alpha Sorority

# **Rising Star Award**

Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority

# **Governors Impact Award**

Student Government Association

#### **Program of the Year Award**

Alpha Delta Pi Sorority -for Active Shooter Program

## **Outstanding Community Service Program**

Alpha Kappa Psi Business Fraternity - for Read Across America Project Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity - for Operation Haitian 5K

#### Fundraiser of the Year Award

Chi Omega Women's Fraternity - for raising \$17,000 for Wings for Wishes

#### **Thousand Points of Light Program Award**

Student Veterans Organization - for Toys for Tots

#### **Multicultural Program of the Year**

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc., - for Willie Lynch Letter

#### **Co-Sponsored Program of the Year**

Residence Hall Association Gay-Straight Alliance -for LGBT Panel and Q&A

-----

**Recognition of 2012-13 Student Government Association Executive Council** 

Jesse Brewer, President Michael Rainier, Vice President Kelsie Brewer, Secretary Jawaun Rogers, Chief Justice

## Swearing in of 2013-14 Student Government Association Executive Officers-Elect

Michael Rainier, President Jessica Dillingham, Vice President Leah Henson, Secretary Kelsey Smith, Chief Justice

# Special thanks to event host Joe Mills, assistant vice president of Student Affairs and director, Housing/Residence Life and Dining Services

Sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs

# 2012-2013 Volunteer Note Takers

These volunteer students provide countless hours assisting fellow students with class work and contribute immensely to their success.

Kamal Alqaryouti, LaPorsche Anderson, Princess Andress, Adriana Appiah-Nkansah, Kristen Austion, Molly Basch, Angela Basso, Whitney Beaird, Justin Beaty, Courtney Bentley, Aaron Birt, Amber Botts, Nicole Bowers, Grace Briggs, Alison Bright, Eric Brown, Raven Brown, April Bumpus, Brian Burgett, Miguel Carretero, Katherine Cassata, Veneacia Chaney, Mary Cheatham, Kinnaly Chow, Elizabeth Clark, MaryBeth Clark, Abbie Cline, Tanya Colley, Aubrey Collins, India Coney, Susan Cook, Kelsey Cormany, Samantha Crews, Aisha Cubero-Betancourt, Kelsey Cvikich, Tammy Danner, Achantye Davis, Shanna Davis, Kylee Dick, Maria Dugan, Jennifer Evans, Delois Ford, Alison Frederick, Philip Freed-Goldenn, Jennifer Freeland, Christin Gardner, Morgan Gibson, Jillian Goodroe, Thomas Graham, Traci Grant, Teresa Gusse, Mariana Hagler, Teeona Hall, Jennifer Hamby, Ashley Head, Chandelle Hegele, Sarah Hemingson, Katarie Herman, Sonja Hill, Shamika Hinton, Patricia Hitchcock-Orders, Megan Holland, Catherine Huey Jourdain, Kera Huggins, Wendell "Dell"Hughes, Maria Hurley, Caitlin Hutcheson, Jessica Imler, Andrea Janes, Brittany Jeffers, Kiara Johnson, Natalie Kela, Rachel Kelly, Elizabeth Kimbrough, Kristen Knight, Rachael Knight, Mary Therese Kubek, Madeline Laewen, Christene Lambert, Emiline LaPlante, DeShaundra Larry, Rebecca Latham, Myndi Leazer, Thea Ledbetter, Sara Lederach, Chandler Lewis, Dakota Lobertini, Matthew Loxley, Brittany Lozano, Ian Lucas, Hannah Mann, Krystal Marin, Fernando Marquez, Claire Martin, MaQueba (Coya) Massey, Aziza Mbuyamba, Sherita McClendon, Jennifer McDonald, Corey McFadden, Alyssa Miles, Isis Miles, Katheryn Mitchell, Danyelle Money, Nicole Mulderink, Scott Murphy, Janay Neal, Catherine Novakowski, Ruthyn O'Donnell, Dan Pak, Kadeem Pardue, Marian Perron, Randi Perry, Vanessa Pineda, Emily Pitts, Scott Powers, Claire Pultz, Clyde Rainey, Samantha Ross, Kassi Rye, Tyler Schlemm, Meredith Shaw, Glenna Shelton, Sierra Shepard, Amanda Slater, Justin Smith, Allan Sorensen, Maria Southers, Letha Steidinger, Ariel Stephens, Allyson Stephens, Jane Stevens, Melinda Stickney, Cynthia Stinnett, Monika Stuard, Charissa Taylor, Christian Thomas, Toni Thorington, Angie Paola Torres-Barreto, Brandon Trumbo, Elizabeth Tuttle, Stephanie Velazquez Rivera, Skylar Wall, Heather Wallace, Shawlynn Walls, Kerri Wheeler, Chelsea Williams, Derek Wilson, Laura Woods, Imani Wright, Crystal Zepess.

# 2012-2013 Who's Who Among Students in American Universities

Gloriaetta Baldwin-James, Rebecca Becker, Kearston S. Blunk, Jesse A. Brewer, Brittany K. Campagna, Michelle N. Carnahan, Michael L. Clan, Chalmus C. Davenport, Luke D. Dunham, Anne M. French, Naomi D. Gilchrist, Ryan L. Givens, Megan M. Gray, Eva M. Grebe, Kenna B. Gupton, Katelyn M. Hamaker, Abner B. Herndon, Danielle M. Joslin, Brandy N. Lassiter, Brandon J. Marshall, Sara Moini, Melissa A. Moore, Leslie A. Morrow, Shelbie A. Ogan, Christina R. Parker, Briana L. Roberson, Ashly A. Roby, Jawaun A. Rogers, Levi G. Shearon, Sarah Simpson, Benjamin B. Stansfield, Michelle L. Swallows, Roger M. Taylor, Jr., Keiara J. Ward and Devan G. Wingert